Endless Frame Photography

The Last Day of Summer

School starts tomorrow and I can’t tell if I’m excited or terrified.

     Sunday: 6 AM. It’s a beautifully cool morning, long before the August heat begins to dominate and oppress the day. A pastel palette paints the sunrise and a gentle breeze is slowly blowing the curtains around the window. I’m awake because I can’t sleep, and I can’t sleep because this is my last day of summer. Tomorrow I resume my job as a teacher and I can’t tell if I’m excited or terrified. The previous year, my first teaching at a demanding school in the states, was one of the most challenging and difficult years I’ve ever had in my life: both professionally and personally. On the contrary, this summer was one of the most releasing and refreshing (bordering on spiritual) chunks of my life. Bronzed skin, wind swept hair, powerful legs pumping the pedals of my bike as I effortlessly soared along the deep blue of the sea-sized Lake Michigan. I lost 7 lbs, I didn’t go to the gym once. Every corner of the city was suddenly within reach, without the hassle or headache of driving, traffic, tickets, or parking. To me this shot epitomizes my summer. The lake, the evening sun, and my bike. After a year of servitude I finally felt like myself again. My mind and soul felt unchained; I felt free. I had that feeling before, that was everyday for me when I lived abroad. I don’t know what I’m more afraid of: that I’m going to lose that feeling again or the subsequent questions that will arise about my life’s path if that happens. Here’s to what I hope is a strong and fulfilling year in the classroom.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on August 10, 2014 at 12:33 pm. It’s filed under Color, Sunsets, Urban and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “The Last Day of Summer

  1. I’m so glad that you have this rejuvenation. It serves you well and no matter what is next you will always be able to recall how you now feel and how you got there.

  2. love these tones…warm.

  3. Fantastic post love the image…keep hold of the thread : )

  4. Beautiful picture. Good luck with your next school year!

  5. I love this! Great shadows and amazing description!

  6. great composition! beautiful colours!

  7. Wow, this is so simple but beautiful. Love this!

Leave a Reply

