Endless Frame Photography

Weekly Photo Challenge: From Above

Several long exposure shots from the top of my apartment complex.

fancy-lineI got a tripod last month for my birthday and I must confess that I have not put it to use at all, so I thought that this Weekly Photo Challenge would be a great opportunity to try it. I scoped it out during the day time and lined up what I thought might be good angles. I actually managed to get up on the roof but since it was raining (I don’t know if you can tell from the pics) I decided to stay indoors. I’ve never really done long exposure photography before and most of the adjustments I made were with shutter speed (anywhere from 5″ to 30″) and not with the aperture. I also was able to use my 200mm lens, which is a rarity for me. Considering the entire shoot was through a pretty thick (and dirty) pane of the glass I’m relatively pleased with the results. I tried to take a few shot of the pedestrians crossing but even with short exposure times they didnt come out terribly well. I’m looking forward to experimenting a bit more, preferably when its not raining!

fancy-line

This entry was published on May 9, 2013 at 2:21 pm. It’s filed under Photo Projects, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

19 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: From Above

  1. Amazing images…. I love long exposure images there great fun

  2. These are great! Giving me the motivation to pick up my camera again and get out of this funk. Thanks for sharing!

  3. neat babe!!! these are great

  4. that’s great series of images, thanks for sharing :)!

  5. Wonderful! The night tower image really plays with the sense of perception (or perspective) – my mind flicked between seeing a vertical tower to thinking it was a walkway with matching long buildings on either side.

  6. These honestly look better than some of the long exposure shots I’ve seen in several different magaiznes.

  7. ” I like the last picture … so fantastic! ty “

  8. nice light trails 🙂

  9. Nice captures. I’ve tried that before at night in Atlanta overlooking the city, but I had to shoot through dirty glass, too, sadly it was noticeable in the images.

Leave a Reply

