Endless Frame Photography

Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

So, here I was; up and above them. Trails of white skyrockets streaking across the last vestiges of the sun’s fading halo, while the city the below churned and buzzed, offering streaking lines of red and white. It really helped put things in perspective –Weekly Photo Challenge: Up
fancy-line

Ancient peoples saw gods everywhere, with the most powerful among them living up and above mortals. Peaks of mountains draped in clouds, the endless dance of the sun and the moon, images like these are represented countless times in the mythology strewn across our wide planet. In this scenario, I am a proxy deity sitting on my throne above the megatropolis of Tokyo. The sun sinks behind Mt. Fuji, and slowly the city below me flickers to life. Even with the limited time I had in the city I was so glad I spent as l did in Roppongi Tower. Arriving just before sunset and leaving well after, I saw a vast array of colors painted across the sky and I watched as the blackness of the evening claimed all traces of them, but even then the color came, red and white, from the city below.

Human beings have always looked up, towards the sky, the stars, the heavens. Even now, when science has shown us that directing our prayers upward to be more of symbolic gesture than a streamlining one, people still look that way for help and guidance. So, here I was; up and above them. Trails of white skyrockets streaking across the last vestiges of the sun’s fading halo, while the city the below churned and buzzed, offering streaking lines of red and white. It really helped put things in perspective, and suddenly:

 I didn’t feel like a god at all, but rather quite the opposite. I felt insignificant, I felt small. Their prayers weren’t being directed to me, they were being directed through me. For years we’ve looked up for help and guidance, but now here I sit up top and thought, if you want to be humbled than you really ought to try this.

fancy-lineSunset Skyrockets VA Stray at SunsetTokyo by Night

 

This entry was published on April 23, 2013 at 2:20 am. It’s filed under Sunsets, Urban, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

  1. Beautiful, thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. Amazing phtographs depicting what you couldn’t possibly communicate through words. I think that prayers are directed upward because nothing is solid there so what could be possible? I had an experience which I believe similar to yours many years ago when I watched the sunrise on Mt Haleakala. I was so insignificant as to disappear for that brief moment.

    • Haleakala? I had to look that one up. Are you from Hawaii? The NPS website says “This special place vibrates with stories of ancient and modern Hawaiian culture and protects the bond between the land and its people” which seems in line with the art you make.

      • I’m not from Maui but one summer I lived in the back country near the mountain. It was an experience never to be forgotten. I so resonated with the land, the mists and the drizzle. Many years ago and it is profound in my memory. Rich with spirit.

  3. Really beautiful images!

  4. Wonderful, always enjoy your photos and narrative!

  5. wow!!!!!!!!!!!!! nice looking photos

  6. myprivatesecret on said:

    thank you so much for your beautiful work ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

