Endless Frame Photography

Retrograded photos based on an NPR article.

After seeing an article on NPR that featured Japanese people enjoying cherry blossoms virca 1890, I wanted to see if I would be able to replicated the feel and effect while using my own photos.fancy-line

After seeing Claire O’Neill’s article on NPR about old retouched photographs of Japanese people enjoy cherry blossoms circa 1890, I wanted to try something different. I have cherry blossom pictures, and pictures from Japan, and wouldn’t it be fun if I could edit mine in such a way as to be reminiscent of those ancient snapshots. I’m not really computer whiz (I always thought it was stupid that the word isn’t spelled wiz) and I don’t use photoshop, but rather a free editing program from Google (Picasa). Regardless I wanted to see if I could replicate the nostalgic feel of those 1890 shots.

Process: I de-saturated the photos to strip them of color, added a small vignette, and finally applied a film grain which, when lightened, helped to give me the old dated feeling of the shots on NPR. The results are, in my opinion, less than stellar, but worth a share. 

Link: http://www.npr.org/blogs/pictureshow/2013/04/11/176909842/japanese-cherry-blossoms-circa-1890

fancy-line

This entry was published on April 20, 2013 at 7:56 am. It’s filed under post effects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Retrograded photos based on an NPR article.

  1. I think these turned out nice.. I am just now learning PS and Lightroom and shall i just say, it’s a tall hill to learn..
    well done indeed!
    lynne

    • Yeah I learned a bit of photoshop in HS, but its sooo much work and time consuming, and picasa (for everyday editing) is more than enough. Photography is just a hobby, but maybe someday ill take a class or something

  2. I think you did an outstanding job – they’re lovely, and very evocative of old Japan.

Leave a Reply

