Endless Frame Photography

Sunday Series: Pixelation

A stylistic choice and editing technique I’ve been experimenting with and a few of my favorite shots.

fancy-line

This week’s Sunday Series I wanted to feature a certain style choice I’ve been experimenting with during the editing process: pixelating my photos. I’ve previously discussed using reflections (here and here) to create faux double exposures as a style choice and how it can force you to look at things different and now I’d like to do the same with Pixelation. I find myself doing it more and more, and the fact that anyone would willingly and drastically lower their pixel count strikes me as ironic but mostly curious. I obviously wouldn’t do it if I felt it detracted from the picture quality, but in these select cases it enhances the shot, adds something to it. The digital camera was actually first invented way back in 1975, but wasn’t popularly used until the 1990’s and then like any new technology it went through a rapid progress that quickly made any older models obsolete. The big thing in the early models was pixels! Pixels pixel pixels, you needed to have the most you could; yet here I am in 2013 adding pixel filters to my images. Am I nostalgic? Is it an unintentional nod to Cubism? I’m not sure I know the answer, but as a photographer I think it’s important to experiment with new ideas and techniques as we search to develop our “voice.”

The first photo I can remember experimenting with this technique on was oddly enough a street artist’s rendition of Picasso’s Guernica. Odd because Picasso was one of the founders of the Cubism movement, so maybe I was subconsciously motivated to imitate his art? I’ve noticed with most of these photos that they have a few things in common: Strong lines, grid shapes, and open spaces. The large pixels are they themselves square in nature and I think it enhances characteristics are already ingrained in the photo; making the strong lines stronger and giving a texture to the negative space in the shots. What’s incredibly important is to reduce the opacity of the filter so that the essence of the original shot still exists. You want to enhance the image without destroying it. Obviously you can’t apply this to any picture and it looks awkward with most, but with these few selections, I’ve found it works very well.

fancy-linePixelated BuddhaPixelated LightPixelated GlassFlower

Pixelated Saints fancy-line

 

This entry was published on March 17, 2013 at 12:00 am. It’s filed under post effects, Sunday Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “Sunday Series: Pixelation

  1. Cool technique! I love photoart. And greast comparison to cubism.

    • yeah thanks! I find it tricky balancing between art and photography and hope that these land somewhere closer to photos on that spectrum. I want people to think of them more as enhanced photos rather than a separate medium

  2. I like the effects, really changes things up and seems like you’ve put some thought into this. Good stuff!

  3. Su Leslie on said:

    Fantastic photos; thanks for sharing them.

  4. Great photos. Technique is very appealing. I am playing with textile arts these days and often use my camera to capture images that inspire me. The pixelation technique holds a lot of possibilities for translating photographic images to textile works. I look forward to playing with these ideas. Thanks for sharing and for the inspiration. I particularly like the photo with the Buddha.

    • Yeah that sounds interesting, I have a friend who does Double exposure with film sometimes. I dont do much of it but maybe I should experiment more.

      Put up a link when you get some shots down

Leave a Reply

