Endless Frame Photography

Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique – Hybrid Flowers

The blending of red and white in a delicate spring blossom and a unique bush that sports these curious flowers.

Last April while I was out under the powder blue sky hunting the fragile pink cherry blossoms of spring, I came across the most curious bush. Winter had relinquished its grip some time ago and we were in the full throws of buds and blooms. I love macro photography and had been snapping inches away from flowers for the better part of the morning and found these peculiar flowers. The bush, standing taller than I, was covered in small coin sized red flowers. Amidst these were small groups of white flowers, and my initial suspicion was that perhaps they were two separate plants intertwined, but a closer inspection proved that was not the case. I was reminded of the 19th century monk Gregor Mendel and his work with breeding pea plants with white flowers. I wondered [still wondering] if this was a hybrid, a genetic mutation, or what? I know the Punnett Square helps to predict the characteristics of offspring based on genes but I’m not sure how applicable it is to an already living specimen. I’m not sure if an organism can have BOTH the dominant and recessive genes of the same characteristic present at the same time. The only case I can think of off the top of my head is Heterochromia (different colored eyes). I thought it was interesting enough document, a bush of mostly red blossoms dotted with several white ones, and if you look close enough you can see the two colors bleeding together, one of the more unique flowers I have seen and perfectly suited to this week’s WordPress theme. 

Camera: Nikon D3100

fancy-lineDominant Red Petals(a) Hybrid Recessive White Flower

 

This entry was published on February 4, 2013 at 5:44 am. It’s filed under macro, Nature, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique – Hybrid Flowers

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique « patriciaddrury

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique Candle, Really? | Humbled Pie

  3. I love all the photos you’ve included in this post. I’m a sucker for nature and most especially, gorgeous flowers.

    • Well then you’re int he right place. I see you live in Japan? I just got back from there and recognized a lot of the places instantly. You’re lucky to be able to see that stuff as often as you do, I loved the country

  4. Those flowers are so beautiful and definitely unique. Thank you for sharing them with us.

Leave a Reply

