Endless Frame Photography

Blue Dawn Reflections

Reflections of a warm and steamy Izakaya in the blue light of an encroaching dawn in Busan, S. Korea.

On the south western tip of the Korean peninsula lies the port city of Busan. Situated on the narrow strait between the Sea of Japan and the East China Sea; the landscape is littered with shipping yards and watery fish markets. Only about thirty miles as the crow flies from Japan in the form of a south lying island, is it also permeated more than other Korean city by its neighbor to the East. It can be argued that Seoul in the north with its international airports is more global but a few hours on a boat will land you in another country if you head into the waters east of Busan. These shots were taken in the early blue hours before dawn from the confines of a Japanese Izakaya. A steamy bastion of warmth against the frigid January sea breeze, I slurped piping hot ramen noodles and let the flow of warm sake soak into my bones. An Izakaya, for the uninitiated, is really nothing more than a Japanese public house that offers simple food and warm drinks to a customer base that is comprised mostly of workers unwinding at the end of their shift. I’m sure I’ll be dining in many of them when I leave for a weeklong trek across the mainland of Japan this Saturday.

I like the way these shots reflected the warm light of the thin paper lanterns inside, as well as the bottle lined wooden shelves, against the cool blue light of an encroaching dawn. I really enjoy these faux double exposure reflection shots and post a series of them a while back. (here)

Camera: Nikon D3100, 18-55mm lens
This entry was published on January 22, 2013 at 5:31 am. It’s filed under Urban and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Blue Dawn Reflections

  1. I am enamored of other cultures and your trek sounds marvelous. I will love seeing your photographs. Enjoy.

  2. Ahhh, I see what you mean by the comment you left at my blog. Beautiful photo. I love the different shades of blues, greens, and greys and that pop of orange. I also shoot with a Nikon by the way. Very low end one and one old one I brought used, but I am a beginner and plus I hate lugging lenses. They are heavy. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Sunday Series: Pixelation | Endless Frame Photography

Leave a Reply

