Endless Frame Photography

Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful – “Happiness”

Thoughts on two intertwined emotions.

Happiness, at least for me, has always been extremely fickle in nature. I know it’s the same way with everyone, but when we have it, when we are happy, we should recognize that. Can we truely be happy about something with out first being thankful for it? Is that not what happiness is; Immense thanks for your current situation? As we proceed through life, it can be difficult to look beyond the stress, and the obstacles, and the omnipresent sense of urgency that permeates our daily thoughts and actions. Lying in bed, draped in the darkness of the night, you try to lull yourself to sleep, and how often is it that our thoughts turn to regrets of the past and concerns about the future. There’s certainly something disquieting, at least to me, about how easy it is to be pulled along by that chain of thoughts. Happiness is of course fleeting, that I am not trying to debate; it is based on emotions, which really are just temporary chemical swells in our bodies, but following that logic so is its antitheses. We each have our own personal battles with happiness, some struggle harder than others, and some are more difficult than they should be, and while we are fighting them it seems like the fate of the world hangs in the balance of each one. I think Thanksgiving is an excellent opportunity to take a step back, outside of yourself, and look at the quality of the life you are living. I’m sure that most people can find something to be delighted with, and if you can’t then you need to figure out what you need to change by this time next year.

I personally, am very thankful and have been happier these last two years that I have ever been [in my adult life]. It doesn’t mean I’m vomiting rainbows, but I just feel contented about the quality of life I have been living. I originally was going to post about my hardworking and supportive family, or my beautiful and gentle girlfriend. I could talk about the freedoms I have, or my health, my steady job, or any number of things that, when looked at from the outside, make me extremely grateful. However, it shouldn’t take a special time of year to develop these feelings, I think we all (I) need to just recognize happiness both when it comes and when it goes, lest we become overly comfortable and ungrateful for the opportunities we are presented. The next year of my life looks to be one of both massive change and uncertainty. I don’t know how it will develop, or what the outcome might be, but I know that now, as of the moment I am writing this I am happy, and for that, I am thankful. 

Camera: Nikon D3100, 18-55mm lens

 

 

This entry was published on November 28, 2012 at 7:10 am. It’s filed under Black and White, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

